Support

Home Forums Event Espresso Premium Cancelled registration in paypal results in 'free' completed transaction

Cancelled registration in paypal results in 'free' completed transaction

Posted: January 9, 2019 at 2:54 am


Dee Stevens

January 9, 2019 at 2:54 am

Hello Tony

We’re using Paypal Express and EE4 4.9.75.p and Ticketing 1.0.9.p

Last year, (also on EE4, but older version), if you went to Paypal and clicked ‘cancel registration’, it used to take you back to the website’s registration cancelled page which had this on it: [ESPRESSO_CANCELLED]

This year, if you cancel out of Paypal, it takes you back to the Payment page from which you can go back to the cart. Which is fair enough, in case user wants to adjust and go to paypal again.

However, the problem is that, if you cancel from Paypal (which takes you back to the Payments page), the registration in the back end says ‘abandoned’ ‘payment pending’, in orange, as expected. Then, about 90 minutes later, the registration converts to ‘approved’ ‘complete’ with £0.00 for the price.

Please could you let me know what I need to change so that it stops doing this?

Many thanks.
Dee


Dee Stevens

January 9, 2019 at 8:57 am

Hi Tony, I’ve checked in again 4-5hours later, and the transaction is ‘incomplete’ ‘pending payment’ and I did receive a ‘pending payment’ message via email. So, it looks as though the problem isn’t reoccuring today.

Do you think it might be because yesterday, when I did the test, I’d just switched to CDN servers half an hour before and there may well have been some caching still taking place?

Lastly, do you think it’s best to return to the payment page when you cancel out of paypal, or better to go to the ‘registration cancelled’ page? That’s what the default page is set to, so seems strange to go back to the payments page. I’d prefer it that it went to ‘registration cancelled’ for real and that user got message delivered as such too. Would be interested to know what you think.

Thank you.

Dee


Tony

  • Support Staff

January 9, 2019 at 9:15 am

Thanks for the update, I’ve been testing on other sites to confirm the expected behaviour still works as it should (it has been).

Do you think it might be because yesterday, when I did the test, I’d just switched to CDN servers half an hour before and there may well have been some caching still taking place?

Hmm, possibly. The only way I can see the above happening is something odd going on with the session and its clearing out the line items… but that’s very odd.

As it’s not happening now I’d recommend monitoring the next couple of registrations to confirm they work as expected and if so, the above would be the best guess with the info we have.

Lastly, do you think it’s best to return to the payment page when you cancel out of paypal, or better to go to the ‘registration cancelled’ page?

The reason we changed it was for sites with multiple payment methods, some users selected a payment method and then changed their minds and wanted to use another, or had an issue with the selected payment method so wanted to switch over, if we directed to the cancel page they had to start all over again, directly back to the payment options allows them to retry.

As your site only has a single payment method I can understand why you would want to go to the cancelled page, and this still possible with some code, see:

https://eventespresso.com/topic/paypal-cancel-registration-link-does-not-forward-to-cancellation-page/#post-279320

You can add that to a custom functions plugin on your site, we have some documentation on creating one here:

https://eventespresso.com/wiki/create-site-specific-plugin-wordpress-site/

That’s what the default page is set to, so seems strange to go back to the payments page.

Which default? The one within your PayPal options? Each checkout created in PayPal can override those settings by passing their own URL (which EE does).

I’d prefer it that it went to ‘registration cancelled’ for real and that user got message delivered as such too.

Going to the registration cancelled page doesn’t actually cancel anything with the registration/payment, what it does it clear the user session so they can start another, so they won’t receive an email stating its cancelled.

The support post ‘Cancelled registration in paypal results in 'free' completed transaction’ is closed to new replies.

Have a question about this support post? Create a new support post in our support forums and include a link to this existing support post so we can help you.

Support forum for Event Espresso 3 and Event Espresso 4.
Documentation for EE3 and EE4
Documentation for Event Espresso 3

Documentation for Event Espresso 4

Status: closed

Updated by  Tony 5 months, 1 week ago ago

Topic Tags

Notifications

This topic is: not resolved
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!