Home Forums Event Espresso Premium No support for a very expensive plugin including VIP

No support for a very expensive plugin including VIP

Posted: November 27, 2012 at 8:02 am

Elzette Roelofse

November 27, 2012 at 8:02 am

There are a few specific things I require/d from an e-commerce type plugin for a project (Yoga Studio) I am busy with. After a lot of help and prompt response from Jigoshop, someone there told me last Tuesday, 13 Nov I should rather go with you guys.
I did first raise the question, just to double check, if Eventespresso plugin tick all the boxes. The next day someone did get back to me, which made it sound like it should be fine.

I purchased a business licence and found that I have a few issues with customising the template to what it needs to be.
How to make featured image work?
More than one course for an event
More than one date per event

I’ve posted some questions. Being under pressure already from my client I also signed up for VIP, hoping that I will get a quicker response.

All in all what I needed was – on the event list page – the following:
Featured image thumbnail.
Description would be good – excerpt from post
Price to show a must.
Dates would be good

A week later, Tuesday 20 Nov, I had an event list page working to some extend, but could not get the thumbnails to show. Even though in the post the support said it worked on his side. I took my code, which was already a couple of bits I had to throw together (perhaps the reason it didnt work…) and tested it in a ‘clean’ TwentyEleven theme as suggested and it still wasnt working. Trying myself to display prices in the event recurring posts messed up all the prices on the even list page.

After a week of stressing and waiting on support, last Tuesday morning I started researching in another plugin. Found one and tested it to make sure it ticks all the boxes. It took me the whole day, but only 1 day to set it up, style and customise the new plugin and add the content.
You can actually view the example here:

Which means, after a week of purchasing your plugin I uninstalled it and won’t be using it. You can un-activate the serial code as you read this, for I am not using it. Ironically your plugin that is almost 4X more expensive has had appalling support and not as easy for me to customise as Events Planner I decided to go with.
For that reason I would like to have a refund for purchasing the business plan and VIP. And for both those subscriptions to be cancelled.
To be honest I really did not get anything out of it except for scratching my head, stress and a few sleepless nights. I have sent 2 messages a week ago and still have not hear anything – I guess out of experience no surprise there…


  • Support Staff

November 27, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Hi Elzette,

I am sorry for the trouble you had with working with our plugin. We work pretty hard to provide excellent support for our customers, and I’m really sad to see you go.

Please note that in each case that you linked to above, we followed up with a timely reply and offered up specific solutions (including code samples where applicable). I’ll admit there was some confusion on my part when you had asked in one thread about the recurring events list display, and later were looking to customize the display to include a featured image. I’m still not sure why the code I posted in the forums did not work for you. Before I posted any of the suggested code changes, these were all tested against the current version of Event Espresso and WordPress.

Someone from sales has contacted you about the refund they issued. Again, I am sorry for the trouble you had with getting Event Espresso to work according to you and your client’s expectations, and wish you all the best.

The support post ‘No support for a very expensive plugin including VIP’ is closed to new replies.

Have a question about this support post? Create a new support post in our support forums and include a link to this existing support post so we can help you.

Event Espresso