Posted: October 13, 2020 at 10:08 pm
We are experiencing issues when an registrant in a group registration for an event is transferred to another event and how we can apply a credit to the registration in the other event.
Here’s the Scenario:
1) A Group registered 5 attendees for Event A at $99/ea and paid in full for all attendees
Here’s the Problem:
The $99 for the attendee for Event A is not being cancelled and the $99 credit is being applied to Event B to show a balance due of $30 but is also showing a balance due for the original registration as well even though it should have been canceled. Both Event A and Event B show a balance due of $99.
What are we doing wrong? What is the process for transferring an attendee to another event? How do we apply a credit to the registration in the new event and cancelling the registration in the prior event?
In the above, it sounds like you are mixing up the Transaction and the Registrations.
When you create a group registration, you have X number of registrations linked to a single transaction.
So in your example, you have Registration 1-5 linked to Transaction 999.
If you then move one of those registrations to another ticket using the attendee mover add-on you don’t create a new transaction, you create a new registration linked to the original transaction and set the status of original registration to cacnelled.
So say you ‘move’ Registration #5 to Event B.
EE creates a new registration, we’ll call it Registration #6, assigns it to Transaction 999 and then sets Registration #5 to cancelled. The transaction for all of those registrations is the same transaction, there isn’t a new one specifically for Reg #6 with it’s own payment so I’m not sure what you mean by ‘Both Event A and Event B show a balance due of $99’.
Can you add some screenshots of what you see so I can take a look?
Thank you for your reply. This makes sense that the attendee mover adds a new registration to a new event and cancels the old one but the transaction stays the same. In my case the cost for the new event was $129 and the old event was $99. Will the transaction now show a balance due of $30 (the difference between the old and new event)?
Yes, it will.
The original registration being cancelled removes that cost from the transaction but the new adds it’s own. THe payment applied to the transactions remains the same so in effect the ‘spare’ $99 ‘overpayments’ (from the cancelled registration) applies to the new $129 charge leaving the remaining balance ($30) to pay.
If the user uses the payment links within EE it will be for payment of the remaining balance.